Small Steps

So yes, I moved. And yes, we’ve picked up a few new things since we’ve been here – a bed, for example, and cookware. And maybe a few more books. But I’m also realizing that I can continually re-evaluate on smaller levels instead of sinking a bunch of energy into major declutters.

Instead of putting together a giant load of books for the user bookstore, one or two books go in the library donation bin. Instead of a massive closet declutter, a shirt that I try on and don’t like goes right into a bag for Goodwill.

It’s not as if things come into the house in massive piles most of the time, after all. In slowly, out slowly, and maybe next time I won’t need to do a massive declutter.

We’ll see how long it lasts, anyway. (Probably until I run across my first $5/bag booksale up here.)

3 thoughts on “Small Steps

  1. That was one thing I loved about the library donation bin. It was such a low commitment compared to driving to a thrift shop to donate stuff.

    Seriously, what are you going to do with a bag of old books? Why not buy the $5 bag, read them all, and then pass them on to friends?

    • Jack says:

      I think the moment I realized that I didn’t actually have to hold on to every book I read was a watershed moment for me in decluttering. And I’m in the library at least once a week, so it’s a really painless way to get them out of the house.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

